The book slaughterhouse five is confusing to say the least. The book is a very confusing read. With Billy jumping in and out of time periods it’s a struggle to keep on order what’s happening. This is definitely a book that shouldn’t be read in small increments because chances are that you will get lost. I think that the book is very average, but saying that I did like parts of it and the only reason that it is average is because of how its set up. If the book was in more of a set manner I believe I would have enjoyed it more. Vonnegut writes very well obviously, but if he were to remake the book and segment when Billy is jumping from time period to time period it would make it a lot more enjoyable. I would almost like this book to be like the age old Goosebumps books where it gave you options of chapters to jump to making the story have the same set of randomness, but you could also stay on one track if you wanted.  Although I didn’t like the set up it does reveal one of the worst parts of war, PTSD. The way that Vonnegut set up the book does show how the trauma of war does effect people. The book is like talking to someone with PTSD, they have no idea what time period they are necessarily in, and have flashbacks to any random periods of time and are forced to relive them but cant alter them.  With this setup we see the misery that people have to deal with after they have done so much good. The ending of the book is not appealing to me, having Billy gathering people to be cremated is not the way that I want to end a book, but it does show the horrors of war, when Billy wakes up screaming shows that he truly does have PTSD. The book is very messed up like the road but it puts it in a realistic possibility. I would not recommend this book to someone for a read unless they were truly interested in seeing the problems with war and the aftermath that it causes. Of the two books we read I would much rather read the road because the end has a much better meaning in my opinion, how the lessons we gain from kinship help us to become independent people. 

Leave a comment